Civil Service Board

About The Board

Providing Act No. 113 as it relates to the Jasper Civil Service Board was passed by the Legislature on March 29, 1965. It provides a civil service system governing the appointment, removal, salaries, tenure, and official conduct of employees of the city; defining violations of the Act; imposing penalties for violations; and repealing conflicting laws. (Rules of the Board)

The Board, comprised of five members appointed by the Governor (Amended Act No. 113), and staff:

  • Dr. Marcus O'Mary, Chairman
  • Carol Downs, Vice-Chair
  • Carl Dorrough, Board Member
  • Gilbert Jean, Board Member
  • Roger Wilson, Board Member
  • Cindi Cain, Clerk

Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month at 9:00 AM in the Council Chambers on the second floor of Jasper City Hall at 400 W. 19th Street, Jasper, Alabama. Normal office hours are Monday and Tuesday, 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM, Wednesday 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM, and closed on Thursday and Friday.

The Board frequently gives written examinations as a part of qualifying applicants to be placed on a Register. Interested applicants may check out the qualifications of certain positions as well as dates for upcoming examinations on the Employment Opportunities page.

Employment Opportunities

NOTICE - 9/12/2022

The Jasper Civil Service Board will have a SPECIAL CALLED MEETING on Wednesday, September 21, 2022. The time of this meeting will be directly after a “work session” which will begin at 1:30 pm, in the council chambers at Jasper City Hall.
The work session and the meeting are open to the public.
The Board will be discussing the proposed pay plan approved by the City Council.
The Special Called Meeting will be for any action the Board chooses to take on the Pay Plan.

Dr. Marcus O’Mary

Acts Relating to the Jasper Civil Service Board

Act No. 113

Amended Act No. 113

Act No. 2015-549


Civil Service Board, City of Jasper

City Hall Basement
P.O. Box 172
400 19th Street West
Jasper, Alabama 35501

(205) 221-8505
(205) 522-7966 (Clerk's cell)